Education Costs, but It’s Less Than the Alternative

Sure, we all know that education is expensive, but have you considered the cost of stupidity?

When money’s tight (which it always is) I sometimes question the value of paying membership fees. Is it really worth the cost of membership this year? I sometimes question the value of attending a conference put on by that group that I just paid the membership fees for.

But then something happens to make me glad I’m a member of a larger group. For example, I was recently asked by my boss if I knew what other schools do with student discipline that seems to blur the line between student life and academic life. I stalled a little and fired off the question to the WARUCC List Serve. Within a day, I had received several dozen replies including links to policies, including suggestions of wisdom, and including offers to talk on the phone. I was schooled by my colleagues, was able to give my boss a quick summary, and I looked good at the same time! This is just one of the many examples of how my connections to the larger post-secondary world have paid off.

Membership has its benefits. I’m glad I paid my dues.

How are you connected? What memberships have you overlooked? Are they expensive? What’s the alternative?

One thought on “Education Costs, but It’s Less Than the Alternative

Leave a Reply

