Registrar on Thin Ice

I love hockey – watching and playing. In fact, I’m playing a game tonight after my beloved Canucks get knocked out of the playoffs. Oops! Did I say that? I really hope they don’t, but it’s not looking so good.

My hockey hero growing up was Wayne Gretsky. He had this amazing ability to suddenly appear in the right place, just as the puck was getting there. It was uncanny! It happened over and over and he would be left all alone in front of the net making goalies look rather skinny and slow. When asked about it, he gave the best hockey quote ever: “Skate to where the puck is headed, not to where it’s been.”

That’s a good statement for life and work, too. I find I fight the urge to rest on my laurels. The whole education world is great at looking back – not so great at looking forward. Too often I hear about Registrars being unhelpful because they’re interested in protecting what is, not helping create what could be.

Are you skating to where the puck is headed or where it’s been?

One thought on “Registrar on Thin Ice

  1. Wow, Grant, that is very helpful for life and work!

    It is like looking to see what the Lord is doing and joining Him; versus doing the same thing that always seemed to work previously.

    Thank you for continuing to inspire us! I have a visual of a puck floating through the air and me flying towards it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

