Guest Blog: New Employee’s Perspective

I have a treat for you! You don’t have to “listen” to me on today’s blog post! Okay, okay, try to keep the cheering down to a polite level – sheesh!

I’m very excited to introduce a guest blogger this morning. Emily Greenhalgh has worked in the Registrar’s Office for the past two and a half years as Associate Registrar. Her primary areas of responsibility are in records and graduation. She has been relentless in pushing us towards higher standards of excellence, but best of all, we have been achieving them because of her work!

Emily is married and has two kids. She manages a number of staff in our office, and you can follow her on Twitter as @orange_hippo . This is the first of three guest posts from her, describing what it’s like to move into the Registrar’s Office.

Emily:

So, like, really?  You WANT to be a Registrar?

That was the question (accompanied by dumbfounded stares) that I heard over and over when the announcement came that I had taken the position of Associate Registrar.  Yes, it was MY choice.  I actually applied for the position of my own free will.  I happily came in from vacation to attend the ‘sensitive’ interview (I was an internal candidate).  I was the one who got my boss in some political hot water for ‘stealing’ me from his boss!

Why did I even apply?  I had been at the University for almost 5 years at that point, and was working as the Executive Assistant to the Provost – a position which I really enjoyed.  I understood enough about the University by that point to know that I really believe in what we do here.  When the position of Associate Registrar came up, I felt I was ready for a new challenge.  I saw it as an opportunity to be more directly involved in the education of students.  In particular, it was a position that would seemingly have no end of need for my ‘attention to detail’ (read: me = perfectionist… what better place to work than in the records office?!)

So, armed with my perfectionist tendencies, I walked into the Registrar’s Office ready to take on the world! [Ahem… it didnt take long to be taken down a peg]  I learned pretty quick that while details are very important the big picture is also crucial,  in terms of students’ academic careers, and also in terms of our office goals.  There were constant reminders to lift my eyes up from the details to see the bigger picture.  It’s not something I do well naturally, so I was grateful for the patient reminders from those around me.

In some ways, I was dropped in the deep end of the pool… I overlapped for about 4 days with the outgoing Associate Registrar.  That was long enough to learn that our office uses a database called Jenzabar… and that’s about it!   Those people who reported to me had a good handle on their jobs, which helped a lot.  But they started to disappear… short-term disability leaves, maternity leaves, getting married and moving away.  All of this forced me quickly to learn the details of their work – something which I am grateful for now!

Well, that’s a little background as to how I got here.  I’ve been asked to blog about what I do and some lessons I’ve learned as well, but will save that for Part II. . . .

Catch you later,

Emily

3 thoughts on “Guest Blog: New Employee’s Perspective

  1. Emily,

    Perfectionist? Naw… you just like things done well and in an orderly fashion — nothing wrong with that!

    You motivate me to be the same way in your efficient, friendly way.

    Thank you for all the mountains of incredibly important hard work that you do for Trinity Western!

    And as for speed, no one can match the amount of accurate work you get done in such short time-frames. Truly inspirational.

    Sheila

    Like

Leave a Reply

