I’m So Proud!

Ok, so this has nothing to do with being a Registrar; it has everything to do with being a proud father. This weekend, my daughter turned sweet 16, and for her birthday, she met her best friend in Calgary, Alberta, and they volunteered at the Operation Christmas Child shoe box distribution centre. You know about the Shoe Box thing, right? People fill shoe boxes with toys, toothbrushes, small games, socks, flip flops, etc., include $7 for shipping costs and donate these boxes to Samaritan’s Purse. The shoe boxes from Western Canada end up in Calgary, where they are checked over for damage,inappropriate toys (like plastic guns), and then packed into larger boxes to be shipped around the world to kids who otherwise wouldn’t get anything for Christmas.

Forget tracking Santa on NORAD. That’s fake. This is the real Santa!

So, Miriah and her friend Brooke spent all day Saturday checking boxes, repairing boxes and packing them into large boxes. The team in Calgary processed 150,000 shoe boxes on Saturday! Wow!



And that’s just the Calgary distribution centre. I have no idea how many other centres Samaritan’s Purse has for this (there are 2 in Canada – the other is in Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario). But this I know: at least 150,000 kids will be receiving Christmas presents this year, and some of those presents will have my daughter’s 16 year old finger prints on them.

She didn’t ask for a new car. She didn’t ask for a diamond necklace or any of the typical 16 year old girl presents that the world’s marketing geniuses would have us believe 16 year old girls want.

Nope.

She wanted to spend the day with her best friend, giving her best to those who have less than the best.

I’m so proud I think my chest is going to burst. If there are no more “Who Wants to Be a Registrar” blog posts, you’ll know why.

Here’s to selfless 16 year old girls! (Miriah, you’re awesome!)

Grant

4 thoughts on “I’m So Proud!

    1. I don’t know about that, Dave. I’ve never done anything like that myself. But her mother has/does. I’ll give the kudos to her mom.

      Like

  1. That is so awesome. God bless you and Kathy for instilling such amazing values in your kids. God bless Mariah for her willingness to serve.

    Julie

    Like

  2. Grant, Miriah and Katheen,

    I have tears in my eyes because it touches my heart so much that Miriah would choose this way to spend her 16th birthday. Praise the Lord for the dear generous heart He given you, Miriah.

    God Bless your life sold out for Jesus.

    Sheila

    Like

Leave a Reply

